Local News

Young golfer takes out Tura Beach Open Championship

TuraChamp Winners 1

Tura Beach Men’s Open Championship Results for 2022

Lachlan Chamberlain from Pymble Golf Course has taken out the 2022 Tura Beach Open.

As well as walking away with the trophy, Mr Chamberlain also won the money for the Golden Shot on the 9th hole, missing the cup by only 8cm.

On Saturday and Sunday (21 and 22 May), the 2022 Tura Beach Open Competition over 36 holes was played in sunny weather, although the golf course was still wet in many places after repeated rain events.

TuraChamp Winners 8

Golf Professional at The Tura Beach Country Club Lorraine Lambert told East Coast Radio it was a great weekend of golf.

"It was fantastic, there was 71 players and it was an absolutely georgious weekend," Ms Lambert said.

"It was picture perfect, there was even no wind here at Tura Beach," she said.

Golfers came from a wide range of golf clubs to play in the Bega Valley competition.

"Out of those 71 players, there was about 50 from out of town, so it was great to have so many visitors here to the Bega Valley Shire," Ms Lambert said.

Mr Chamberlain was one of the younger competititors and playing off +4 won the championship with 150 strokes.

The runner up was Harry Petersen (Concord GC) who was only 1 stroke away on 151.

TuraChamp Winners 3

Local Rob Staite (Tura Beach) was third, on a count back, also on 151 strokes.

The A grade nett winner was Andrew Kew (Tura Beach GC) with nett 149 on a count back from Michael Williamson (Murrumbidgee GC), also on nett 149.

B grade gross was won by Stuart Peacock (Yowani CC) with 167 strokes, ahead of Philip Rolfe (Tura Beach CC) on 169 strokes.

B grade nett was won by Leigh Bedford (Corowa GC) on nett 146, ahead of Philippe Denoso (Nelson Bay GC) on nett 147.

C grade gross was won by Dario Signorini (Bermagui GC) with 187 strokes, on a count back from Rob Vandeyk (Tura Beach CC) also on 187 strokes.

C grade nett was won by Glenn Patrick (Warburton GC) with nett 153, ahead of Stuart Patrick (also Warburton GC) on nett 157.

Meanwhile on Tuesday (17 May 2022), a stableford competition off the white markers was won by Scott Richardson in A grade with 37 points, ahead of Jonathon Kite on 35 points. In B grade, Graham Brown won with 36 points ahead of Robert Eley on 35 points. In C grade Don Sinclair won with 34 points ahead of Matt Papp on 33 points.

Nearest the Pin was won by Greg Smith on the Arcuthe 3rd, Joe Fitzpatrick on the Mastercut Meats 5th, Don Sinclair won the MorMors 9th and Scott Richardson won the Golden Shot 13th. Chris Morgan won the Bega Cheese 17th. The ball competition went to 31 points.

The next big event at the Tura Beach Country Club is the Ace of Clubs in June which features around 150 golfers which play at the four local golf clubs (Tura Beach, Merimbula-Pambula, Eden and Bega).

"We look forward to see a few more out of towners in town for the Ace of Clubs."

TuraChamp Winners 7

TuraChamp Winners 6

TuraChamp Winners 5

TuraChamp Winners 4

TuraChamp Winners 2

Image Credit: Tura Beach Country Club

Tags: Tura Beach, Tura beach Golf, Golf, Lachlan Chamberlain