Bolton beats strong field to win Tura Open

May 23, 2023 8:22 am in by

The Tura Beach Country Club hosted it’s Amateur Championship Open over the weekend (May 20-21) with 120 hopeful competitors taking part.

Harry Bolton from Royal Canberra took out the title of 2023 Tura Men’s Amateur Champion.

Facing extremely windy conditions on Sunday Bolton produced an impressive par round score of 73 to finish the 36-Hole Championships with a 1 under par total of 145.

Article continues after this ad

Tura Beach locals performed well with Michael Coulter finishing 2nd with a total of 151, and Gary Cook finishing 3rd with 153.

Division 2 Gross winner was Russell Morgans (Royal Canberra) with 167 ahead of Tura player Lance Musgrave with 169. The Division 3 Gross winner was Jeffrey Peel (Tura) with 180 by one shot over Dario Signorini (Bermagui) on 181.

In the Nett events, Tura Beach local, Justin Trethewey took out Division 1 with 147, David Cook (Churchill & Monash GC) won Division 2 with 146, and Steven Fahey (Murrumbidgee) won Division 3 with 150.

The Seniors Classic was dominated by the Cook brothers – with Gary winning the Gross event with 153 ahead of David Armstrong (Gold Creek) on 155. Gary’s brother David took out the Nett prize with 146 from Dominic Di Campli (Queanbeyan) on 148.

As a prelude to the Tura Open a 2 Person Ambrose event was held on Friday 19th May. A total of 116 competitors played in good weather and the Nett winners were Paul Bright & David Armstrong (from Gold Creek GC) with a score of 63.5. Runners-up were Timothy Wilson & Rob Cochrane with a score of 63.75.

Article continues after this ad

The mixed winners were Kaye and Ken O’Meara with a score of 69.

Gross winners were Angelo Bourandanis and Harry Bolton (Royal Canberra) with a fantastic score of 61 off the stick. Gross runners-up were Ross Oldham and Nic Crundall.

On Tuesday 16 May 2023, a stableford competition, nominally off the white tees, was won by Jamie Smith in A grade with 37 points, ahead of Peter Byrne on 36 points.

In B grade, Laurie Quigley won with 36 points ahead of John McPherson (Pambula Merimbula GC) on 34 points.

In C grade Herb Betar won with 35 points ahead of David Ellingford on 34 points.

Article continues after this ad

Nearest the Pin was won by Ian Scott on the Arcuthe 3rd, Ted Johnson on the TBCC 5th, Ted Johnson (again!) won the MorMors 9th and David Ellingford won the Golden Shot 13th in convincing form with a hole-in-one! Peter Byrne won the Bega Cheese 17th.

The ball competition went to 30 points.

Scott Richardson and Jamie Smith both had eagles on the par 5 11th.

Menahile a little further north, Leigh Coloe has been crowned the 2023 Tuross Head Golf Champion.

Coloe made it five in a row as Club Champion, an outstanding effort.

Article continues after this ad

The Men’s Championship at the Tuross Head Country Club is done and dusted for another year with the course in great condition thanks to Tim Watson and his crew.

The Club has thanked to the committee for the organization and the players for keeping a field of 66 rolling along and congratulated all winners.

Club Champion Scratch Leigh Coloe 150
Scratch Runner up Mal Gilbertson 155
Overall Net Winner and the Ernie Graham Memorial Shield Peter Hogan 136
“B” Grade Scratch Winner Alan Langford 172
“C” Grade Scratch Winner Simon French 182
“A” Grade Net Winner Mark Haberkorn 142
“B” Grade Net Winner Richard Wharton 146
“C” Grade Net Winner Herb Muriwai 141

Next Saturday the club will resume the medley.

Image: Tura Beach Country Club

Article continues after this ad